it’s tough being a kitten

it’s tough originally uploaded by vanityandsanity.

Looks like hard work, huh? Eat, sleep, snuggle, eat, sleep, eat. What a life.
I apologize for including so many kitten pictures; trying to up the visual interest here and it’s all I’ve got. My procrastination problem clearly extends to photography. As you can probably tell, we don’t really take a ton of pictures unless it’s a special occasion or we’re bored. I planned to over Christmas, but between the food and the booze, well, I got a little distracted… I’ll try to remedy this soon.
As an aside, when we were thinking of getting a pet, I was actually worried I wouldn’t bond with a cat. I was afraid I wouldn’t like him! Growing up, we’d always had dogs and I considered myself a steadfast dog person.  I did not “get” cats. However, we didn’t have the time to be fair to a dog so that wasn’t an option. And I really, really wanted a pet. M’s always had cats so he finally sold me on the idea and we went to the shelter to go look. Once I saw him (being tossed around by overzealous- though well-intended- little girls, actually! poor thing!) I was a goner. Now he pokes me in the eye with his paw at 3am and chews on my hair. ’tis true love.
It’s a bit formualic but I found an old, old year-end poll in Livejournal dating back to 2004. I thought it would make a suitable in-depth year-end wrap-up.

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before? Got engaged. Adopted a cat (me! a cat! I never fancied myself for a cat person).
2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? Er, I don’t even know what they were. So gonna go with probably not. I did make some this year, which I already posted. Nothing crazy, generally attainable.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth? My cousin’s wife.
4. Did anyone close to you die? No, fortunately.
5. What countries did you visit? Cuba!
6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009? A well-defined career path that I find fulfilling. Sigh.
7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? Labour Day (the day we got engaged).
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Selling our house for a great price. I staged it, so I like to think that played a role.
9. What was your biggest failure? Nothing specific, just the usual being-too-hard-on-myself BS that I tend to pull. I need to be nicer to myself. And, much to my chagrin, I’m still stuck in terms of my career.
10. Did you suffer illness or injury? I had bronchitis last month and it was pretty terrible. The doctor at walk-in gave me antibiotics and an inhaler, then informed me that I may just have mild undiagnosed asthma. Fail.
11. What was the best thing you bought? Hudson dark wash skinny jeans.
14. Where did most of your money go? The usual suspects: gym membership, yoga, clothes, more clothes, makeup, skincare, dining out, wine, Cuba vacation. Oh and the cat. How are kittens so expensive? Dang!
15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Getting engaged! I was on Cloud 9 for a good month. I’m somewhat surprised I didn’t crash my car staring at my ring. I like bling, not gonna lie.
16. What song will always remind you of 2009? Dance with Me – Johnny Reid.
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? Happier.
b) thinner or fatter? Well, I prefer “more plump” or “fluffy”.
c) richer or poorer? Richer. Yay! Though, uh, not rich by any means.
18. What do you wish you’d done more of? Being kind to myself. Being optimistic.
19. What do you wish you’d done less of? Stressing over selling the house. But with the (unlikely) possibility of carrying two mortgages looming, it was tough.
20. How will you be spending Christmas? Already spent it with the fam.
22. Did you fall in love in 2009? Been there since ’07
23. How many one-night stands? Nada.
24. What was your favourite TV programme? Desperate Housewives, Gossip Girl, The Bachelor, Better off Ted (best new show of the year, hands down)
25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? No. I don’t really waste that much energy on anyone.
26. What was the best book you read? This year has been a bit of a downer, book-wise. Or maybe it’s just me. I started several novels, only to abandon them halfway through. One that I did finish and enjoy was Superfreakonomics.
27. What was your greatest musical discovery? Johnny Reid puts on an awesome live show.
28. What did you want and get? Wanted to get engaged, sell the house, get a pet, get more settled in this city.
29. What did you want and not get? To win the lottery. Still waiting on that one.
30. What was your favourite film of this year? I’m not picky– I’ll watch and like just about anything. The Hangover was pretty funny. Oh and State of Play was surprisingly good. But I also thoroughly enjoyed Monsters & Aliens so, uh, consider the source!
31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? Turned 26 eleven days ago. Spent it with M and my parents, which was exactly what I wanted. Went out for sushi (of course) and had a low-key evening.
32.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? A fulfilling job. Perhaps a few closer friends in this city. I don’t really have a ‘best’ female friend here, unfortunately. Lots of less-close ones, though.
33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009? At work = ‘I’ve given up and have no one to impress’. Otherwise = classic, feminine, casual, a bit urban.
34. What kept you sane? M, kitty, my mom.
35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Jason Statham, rawr. Or Ryan Reynolds… Actually, I’ll take one of each.
36. What political issue stirred you the most? Provincial political happenings.
37. Who did you miss? My parents & friends in my hometown. I don’t get to see them as often as I would like and when I do, it tends to be kind of chaotic.
38. Who was the best new person you met? My best friend’s new(ish) boyfriend, because they are perfect together & he makes her happy & I’m so glad she finally found someone deserving.
39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009: Action comes first, motivation comes later. Now, learning this and actually acting on it are two different things. Also, that everything you do & every day that passes can put you either that much closer to or that much further away from your goal. Again, if I could just practice what I preach!

One thought on “it’s tough being a kitten

Leave a Reply

