Birthday recap + other weekend activities

Had a fabulous, if lazy, birthday yesterday. Seems I enjoy my birthdays more when I don’t have crazy high expectations. Especially given the somewhat inconvenient timing of my birthday; 6 days before Christmas, people tend to be out of town, entertaining visitors of their own, off on a tropical getaway, or flat-out broke from holiday festivities. Thus, I decided to spend the day with the ones who matter most:  the fiance and the fam!

Woke up early and hit the gym for full-body weights, followed by a massage. The weights were much-needed since I’ve been slacking in favour of cardio and Ashtanga. I’m a bit sore today, but in a good way. It’s twisted, but I kind of enjoy delayed-onset-muscle-soreness (aka DOMS)– even though I know it`s not an accurate indicator of workout efficacy. I did notice that my focus was much better than usual, probably due to so much yoga. Rather than focusing on ‘repping it out’ and getting in & out of the gym, I was able to concentrate on each rep and how it felt. Good stuff.

Then, dinner with the fam. Dinner was amazing. I ate a ton. Between the three of us (as I mentioned previously, fiance is not an adventurous diner), we had: miso, soba noodles, california rolls, spider rolls, agedadhi tofu, the most melt-in-your-mouth tuna sashimi, salmon sashimi and tamago sushi. The fiance had beef meatballs as an app, then sesame beef with rice and veg. I also may or may not have had some of the fiance’s food too.

This was followed by Inglorious Basterds, which was surprisingly entertaining. The trailers made it look a bit iffy, but it was much better than Star Trek, which we pay-per-viewed on Friday night.

Today was a rest day and consisted of Christmas Celebration #1. Visited with my father`s side of the family, who the fiance happens to be friends with as well. This includes my two male cousins who are basically like brothers to me (being an only child, it`s the closest thing I have). They both have adorable baby boys– 9 and 11 months, respectively.

I must confess to having a touch of baby fever. I can`t wait to have kids. I`ve felt my biological clock ticking for about 5 years now and it has not subsided with time. Although our kitten thinks he`s a baby, it`s just not quite the same. The fiance has a lot of children on his side of the family too, so for the time being, we get to visit and occasionally babysit… But I can`t wait to have our own someday. Once we are settled in the new house and- of course- married, then we’re going to re-evaluate and go from there.

Tonight’s agenda: laundry, cooking dinner, prepping breakfast for the week and other productivity. Dinner will be taco-flavoured chicken breasts, corn, roasted cauliflower and broccoli (love roasting cruciferous veg) for me and potatoes for fiance. Was going to go grocery shopping but opted not to since we’ll be leaving mid-week to visit family. Instead, I will try to be creative and use up what we have (even if that means resorting to the frozen veggies in the freezer that I generally ignore).

Leave a Reply

